What’s New for 2012

I hope everyone had an excellent holiday week and a happy New Year (hopefully you’re caught back up on sleep). I’ve been procrastinating on this post because there’s been such a flurry of activity around here, partially due to Christmas and New Years, and partially to the fact that I get way more sculpting done when I don’t have school. But I decided that I should stop holding off and really commit to what I want to do with the Frippery Factory this year, and part of that is making it public.

2012 is going to be a busy year for me, outside of my small business. I’ll be choosing and applying to colleges, trying to nab scholarships, and I’ll turn 18 (the Frippery Factory will turn 2). I feel like I’ve reached a point with my business that it’s time to start growing things up a little bit. I’m going to start acting like this is actually a job, which brings me straight to my first item on my list.

  1. I’m going to try to make enough money with the old FF to avoid having to take a job I hate just to help pay for college. This may sound silly to you, but I have a serious moral and personal aversion to flipping burgers at McDonald’s just so I don’t have to worry about living in college debt for the rest of my life. I may take a part-time job at one of the stores in Northfield, but I don’t want to have to rely on the slim chance that I’ll be the one out of 5000 high school and college students hired. Which brings me neatly to my next point.
  2. I’m going to diversify my income. Wow, that sounds kind of legit, doesn’t it? From a Frippery Factory standpoint, I’d like to start selling things other than just miniatures. I’d like to ramp up jewelry. I’d like to do more magnets. Another consignment or wholesale collaboration would be excellent, and I’m looking into craft fairs. 2012 is also the year that Mei and I start offering beautiful, best-on-the-web mini food tutorials for sale. I love teaching my craft, so I hope to make mini food and polymer clay a lot more accessible to all of you. And bring in money from more than just miniatures.
  3. I’m going to work smarter. Major confession alert. Up to now, I have not been giving the Frippery Factory my all. Yes, I spend lots of time at it, both sculpting and doing other business-y things. But although I’m work hard, I’m not working smart. In 2012, I plan on finding ways to get more done, with better results, in less time. Because really, what’s the point in working 15 hours a week while only accomplishing 3 hours worth of actual work?

So, now it’s your turn. What do you think of my goals? Are they preposterous? What do you have in store for the coming year?

Why yes, that smashingly adorable mini fruit tart IS mine. And yes, you CAN build your own pendant or bracelet charm with my all-inclusive miniature fruit tart kit. Get bragging rights plus a fun crafty project for only $14 in my Etsy shop. Bonus: free shipping within the US!

Leave a Reply

