Thinking harder about mini food in 2012

cakes custom matching pin & necklace sets

As of today, the Frippery Factory has been around for a year and a half. 18 months.

To me, it feels like waaaaaay longer than that. Some days more than others.

In the last 18 months, I’ve sold my first piece of work (mini deviled eggs!), started making food jewelry, shipped my first international package (Finland), been featured in my first Treasury, made my first custom order (for someone I don’t know), started an ongoing collaboration on mini food tutorials, was in the Star Tribune, and became a featured artist at the Walker Art Center gift shop. Whew. No wonder it’s felt like a long time.

My point is, being in business changes you. It changes the way you think about things. Last December, I would’ve been unable to sleep if I sold something. SEO (search engine optimization; more fun than it sounds) completely befuddled me. I had no idea why someone wouldn’t want lead in their earrings. I hadn’t figured out that the USPS charges an extra 20 cents for each additional ounce you ship in a padded envelope, after you hit 88 cents. I thought a package to Australia would arrive day after tomorrow.

I learned a lot. I’m still learning a lot. And part of what I’m learning is that, in a world full of talented people making beautiful things, you can’t try and follow someone else’s strategy for selling their creations online. You have to be your own person/company/thingy.

So I’ve been thinking a lot about how I want to continue with my business in 2012. I want to keep making mini food. (Don’t freak out on me here. I’m not quitting.) But I want to do it in a way that’s a little more unique, and a little more Frippery Factory, than some of the stuff I’ve tried in the past.

I don’t have definites for you right now. I’m working on stuff. New ideas, new strategies, new ways to make even more realistic miniature food. Maybe even a website, instead of just a blog.

I thought I should share this part of my process with you. I’ll be keeping you posted as the year draws to a close (even though that’s like 10 days away). Because that’s when I hope to start rolling out the changes.

 

One thought on “Thinking harder about mini food in 2012

  1. Pingback: Little sushi for a big crowd | the frippery factory

Leave a Reply

