The Crescent Roll Formula

I don’t know if you are a fan of mathematics, but I have a little equation I’d like to share with you. It’s a principle I discovered as a fifth grader in my great-grandmother’s kitchen. Each Thanksgiving and Christmas, she’d be in charge of bringing “rollickes” (roll-ick-ees), a Czech kind of crescent roll that is full of butter and sprinkled with poppyseeds, and I’d help her make them. She’d mix the dough by hand, roll out the dough by hand, and then we’d twist them up by (you guessed it) hand. They’re a ton of work, and a ton of delicious, and they have their own mathematical formula. It goes like this.

Rollickes – (Number of People for the Meal  x  10) + Number of Servings of Turkey x O = Number of Rollickes Left After the Meal.

As you’ve probably guessed, no matter how many rollickes are made, or how much turkey is served, the answer is always going to be zero. It is an interesting law, and one I have not finished testing yet, although currently the highest ratio of rollickes to people at one meal has been 6 to 1. And when you consider that there’s stuffing and turkey and four kinds of pie, and that all the rolls are gone, that’s something worth noticing.

So, at your house, what runs out first at big get-togethers? Do you have your own “Crescent Roll Formula” for cake, or cookies? I want to meet my fellow cook mathematicians. Let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “The Crescent Roll Formula

  1. Our family does not have any sort of “Crescent Roll Formula” although all bets are always on my sister getting pains in her legs just after eating so that she cannot help with the cleanup!!!

    I really just wanted to tell you that I enjoyed reading about your family’s “Crescent Roll Formula”. It was all kinds of heart-warming and buttery!!! : )

    • Aww, thanks! I’m glad you liked it.

      I totally know what you mean about the mysterious “Can’t Help with Cleaning-itis”…it’s a tough disease to kick, isn’t it? Sometimes the only cure is having another piece of pie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

