Mini Food Sneak Peak + I’m a Giant (Dollhouse Challenge)

So if you’re a follower on Facebook or Twitter, you might have heard about my super awesome opportunity. If not, I’ll clue you in. Starting in early November, my miniature food will be for sale at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, as part of a partnership between the Walker and mnartists.org. The Walker is a nationally-reknowned art center and an all-in-all inspiring place to visit, so I am incredibly honored to be selling my mini food there.

I’ve been chugging away at my pieces, and they’ll be going to my photography studio that’s actually in natural light tomorrow or Tuesday, so I’ll have a whole line-up of photos for you pretty soon. Until then, enjoy the photo above, and see if you can’t guess what sorts of stuff I’m making.

In other news, I’ve decided to take on the I’m a Giant Dollhouse Challenge, hosted by blogger Emily Henderson. Really, I need another project like I need to fail the ACT test, but of course I can’t stay away from a challenge. So what’s the deal? Basically, I decorate a dollhouse by December 15th. It can be any kind of dollhouse, or roombox, or even industrial space. I honestly haven’t decided yet.

And as I am a sucker for punishment, not only will I be taking on another project (right before holiday rush season), I will be doing said project on a shoestring budget of $50. This might sound like a lot of money, but when you consider that a really nicely-made miniature sofa can be almost as much as the real thing, this becomes a really tricky (or enjoyable, if you’re me) manifesto to work by.

So how will I create an awesome dollhouse with only $50? I need you guys! If any of y’all want to take part in this project with me, I’d love that. One of the most important things I’ll be doing in order to stay on-track will be swapping mini pieces. So if you have mini-making supplies you want to trade for mini food or kitchenware, you should get on board. As a minor, time is not as important to me as money is, especially since I now have my driver’s license and can go buy donuts whenever I want.

All right, so here’s your call to action.

  1. Read this article on Emily’s blog. Get excited.
  2. Determine your budget. Trust me, miniatures are shockingly expensive.
  3. Decide if you’d be willing to swap your extra mini supplies with others in your on-a-budget boat.
  4. Let me know! A huge part of making your own dollhouse is being a part of a community. We’re all going to need some new friends and mutual support, so shoot me an email or leave a comment.
  5. Meet me back here for more news on my latest project, Walker miniatures, and free tutorials. You might even want to follow me on social media or via blog feed (all of which can be found to the right).
5 thoughts on “Mini Food Sneak Peak + I’m a Giant (Dollhouse Challenge)

  1. Pingback: Pictures Speak Louder than Words: New Mini Food Magnets | the frippery factory

  2. Pingback: I’m a Giant Dollhouse Challenge: Life in a Cardboard Box | the frippery factory

  3. Hi Emily!

    So, if I’m Romanian, I’m still eligible for the swap? I won’t be able to come to LA to show you my miniatures, but I could definitely use some kitchenware. Looking forward to your response!

    Simona

    • Hi Simona!

      It looks like we need to clear a few things up. (Sometimes I can be quite confusing.) I’m Amelia, and the “I’m a Giant” Dollhouse challenge ISN’T of my creation, it’s Emily Henderson’s. I’m just participating.

      Secondly, you don’t need to be able to get to LA to show your stuff. It’s just about doing it and having a good time about it. I definitely won’t be travelling. Anyway, I’m open for swapping if you so choose, but as far as I know, Emily’s just doing her own thing. Hope that clears things up. 😀

Leave a Reply

