Meet My Friends: Denise of deesware

Today with us, we have Denise, a fantastical miniature artist from the UK. She’ll be sharing her beautiful miniature furniture and accessories, as well as narrating this post, so let’s have a big round of applause for her!

Hi all!
I’m Denise and make dolls house miniatures, which I came by quite accidentally. I was looking at dolls house furniture, trying to find something a little different, but was confronted by lots of dark wood and pine. I saw a dark cabinet I liked at a toy fair, which was reasonably priced, and as I love doing up real life furniture, thought, ‘why not try it on this cabinet’, and that’s where it all started. I stripped down the cabinet, and repainted it, giving it paint effects to create a shabby chic look. I did an art & design course years ago, and part of that included learning paint effects, and luckily, can just about remember the basics. I then started buying more furniture, and just loved seeing the before and after results. At the same time, my daughter who is the youngest of my three children, had turned 13, and I decided I needed to do something more, as I had been a full time mum for 24years. Don’t get me wrong, I have loved being able to stay at home and be there for my kids, and know I’m lucky to have my lovely hubby who made it possible, but I was needing something more now that my kids didn’t need me in the same way. And then it came to me, what better way to indulge in my miniature passion, by selling my creations!! I could revamp all the furniture I wanted, I just had to find a place to sell it, and that’s when I found Etsy. Since I opened my shop, I have started doing other kinds of miniatures. I have found that I love making accessories out of air dried clay such as this little fellow

and the accessories to this dining room set

I had spent a couple of years before, drooling over the ‘shabby chic’ look, and got a good feeling for it, so I love to recreate this in my pieces, along with cottage and French look styles. I like to do the odd modern piece as well, but just love the hand painted look of furniture. I have so many ideas in my head, but unfortunately, not enough time to create them all. I know I said that my kids don’t need me in the same way anymore, (they’re capable of getting their own drinks!!), but I still seem to run around after them a lot, but little by little, I’m easing them into doing more for themselves, so that I can have more time for my miniatures.
If you’re reading this, you’re probably a lover of miniatures, and know what an addictive and fulfilling hobby it is, as you can totally immerse yourself in it, and forget about everything else, so ‘HAPPY DOLL HOUSING’ to you all.
My very best wishes – Denise x

Thanks, Denise! Frip Friends, be sure to check out Denise’s Etsy shop! We’ll see you back here on Friday with another “selling handmade” post like this one.

Leave a Reply

