Photography: When Effects Are Too Much

As an Etsy seller, I’m always trying to improve my photography. On a very competitive website, often your product (and entire shop) is judged by one thumb-nail sized photo on a search results page, and that’s all the chance you get. Talk about making a good first impression!

Consistently fiddling with photography for me, as a miniatures seller, involves adding realism to a tiny-sized scene. Oftentimes, this involves finding inspiration in other seller’s photos: some of my favorites include Brae of otterine (mind-melting miniatures), Ashley of butterflyfood (mouth-watering food photography), and Myra of Twigs & Honey (breath-taking vintage-inspired bridal accessories). Sometimes, this even involves buying some teeny tiny plates and silverware for fancy luncheons. (This is always fun.)

This is all well and good, but since I’m trying to put together a Halloween lookbook of miniature treats, I’ve got to shoot for just the right look. I want to toe the line closely enough that I’m a memorable shop, but I don’t want to distract or pain potential customers. This is where I need your help. I’m going to share some photos of my Halloween set below. Would you do me the favor of picking your favorite, and least favorite, and dropping me a line in the comments telling me which is which?

The original photo…

the photo with a “glow” effect…

the photo with a “vintage” effect…

…and the photo with the “classic” effect.

Please, let me know what you think. Any input is greatly, greatly appreciated.

6 thoughts on “Photography: When Effects Are Too Much

  1. Aw, thanks for the compliment! 😀 I like the glow effect the best. It shows off the setting with toned down coloration without overdoing it like the vintage and classic looks.

  2. I’m no photo pro, in I find it’s for me the most difficult part of all the work involved in listing something on Etsy, but for me too, the glow effect is the best. The classic effect really doesn’t do any justice to your work. The vintage effect makes your chairs almost disappear.

  3. OK, the glow effect it is! I really appreciate your feedback. 🙂

    I always have terrible trouble with photos. This small-sized scene is the best for me photo-quality wise…whenever I’m feeling a bit too cocky, I go look at some of the old pictures from when we first set up shop. Wowee.

    • Thanks, Jim! I actually used http://www.rollip.com , which is like the website you suggested in that it doesn’t need installed software. I’m a big fan of the vintage-looking effects Rollip has: I believe there are 40 different effects, and it was as quick as clicking an effect and then uploading a photo.

      I appreciate the link–I think I know what I’m doing this afternoon. 😉

Leave a Reply

