Meet My Friends: Brae of Otterine

So, yeah, I know I said I was going to do a video blog post for today, but since it has been uber hot here (the air conditioning is running and it’s 88 degrees inside) and I look like and feel like an electrocution victim (from the humidity), I have something a little better: Brae and her literally mind-blowing dollhouse scenes. I hope Brae can become a regular fixture on the blog…and you’ll see why in a second.

Hi, my name is Brae, otherwise known as otterine in the mini and blog worlds, and I am a fully addicted miniaturist.

I had a lighted Lisa dollhouse (similar to Lundby) when I was a child and nearly wore the thing out. I used to make miniature foods and accessories for it and even new animal residents. Mom and I bought a Dura-Craft kit when I was a bit older, but it really was above my skill level at the time and there was no resource like the internet back then. It languished in the basement and most of the kit was lost in a flood.

I also used to build model cars.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Miniatures gave way to art and photography, and I kept sewing my own clothing as I had since I was in high school. About two years ago, mom asked about giving my childhood dollhouse to my young cousin for her birthday. It was in sad, sad shape, so I did some sleuthing on the internet and found a whole world community of miniaturists. I ordered some new carpeting and tiles and printed out new wallpaper for the tired old house. Once I had remodeled the interior and purchased a few pieces of furniture, I was hooked again!

Mom asked if I was sad to give up my dollhouse now, but there wasn’t much else I could do with it. So, she bought me the base Real Good Toys Newport kit in brick, and I bought two additions for it. The Newport I’ve been building is an historic house updated to contemporary times. It has a garage made from a Foxhall Conservatory kit (the new conservatory sits atop that garage).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Amelia says, “Gee, guys, sorry there are pictures of the cars in with the pictures of the house. I’m not yet advanced enough to understand why WordPress software won’t let me choose only some files for a slideshow. Anyway, back to you, Brae.”

In between this massive build, I’ve built two kits for the Greenleaf Dollhouses Spring Fling contest. I was lucky enough to win in 2010, along with a piggyback contest from Miniatures.com, with my Baslow Ranch. It’s an old ghost town ranch that now serves as a living museum.

The latest house is Baxter Pointe Villa, a luxury beach house right on the water. There are so many fantastic entries in the contest each year, we’re all biting our nails to see who will take home the prizes this year!

I try to make as much as possible for my builds and really try to fool the viewer into thinking it’s a real life sized house.

So, that’s me…too many ideas and never enough time for them all! :]

Be sure to stalk (er, read) the Otterine blog regularly, check out Brae’s Etsy store (where she sells her handmade miniatures like the fish tank above), and check back here for (hopefully) more news from Brae. Good luck with the Spring Fling contest, too–I honestly don’t see how things could be any better! See you all back here tomorrow for a DIY, build-a-long project that, as of yet, is under wraps.

Leave a Reply

