Explodin’ Food and Getting My Way

VACATION NOTICE: I will be taking a bit of a break from the Frippery Factory from Sunday, June 19th to Saturday, June 25, 2011. I will be answering convos (Etsy) and email, but I will not be blogging, creating new items, or shipping out inventory. Just so ya know.

So today, I’m going to dish on two of my current projects and a video you need to see. A video that teaches you how to get anything you want. Let’s jump in!

I’ve been spending the day exploding some diner favorites. (No, I’m not a pyromaniac in my spare time.) If you go back far enough, you’ll remember the Scientific Exploded Diagram Hamburger Earrings. (If you aren’t, you should go check them out. They are one of my best designs, or at least I think so.) As of this writing, they have 352 views, 8 hearts, and 6 Treasury lists. Not too shabby, eh? So I decided that it was time to make more exploded diagram (or exploded view) food. I’ve got all the components made for fish sandwiches, chicken sandwiches, and an improved hamburger set (with tomatoes that look like tomatoes!). The fish needs tartar sauce, the chicken sandwiches need mayo, and everything needs a shiny glaze, but the photo was asking to be taken. So I took it. The color is a little wonky, but this is the original exploded view, man.

My second project is one that ties in to family. I’m working on a set of antiqued “cut of meat” diagrams for dollhouse wall display. Maybe some day, I’ll make a tiny butcher shop. Oooh! I have to digress for a second. This miniature is from Oiseau de Nim, one of my favorite sellers on Etsy. I practically swooned when I stumbled across it yesterday.

You can find the Oiseau de Nim blog here. I recommend reading it…the photos are knock-your-socks off, plus you can find the rest of the “Return from Market” collection.

Any who, my meat posters. I’ll upload my favorite, just for you. Mmm…veal. I’ve never actually tried it, but clearly there are many different ways to cook it! How does one serve veal loaf, I wonder? With ketchup? Barbecue sauce?

Finally: How to Get Anything You Want. Marie Forleo’s video is a must-see. Must. See. She’s clearly a very smart woman, and she puts her ideas into an easy-to-understand format. Perhaps best of all, you can start getting what you want right after you finish watching it. Yeah, it’s 20 minutes, but don’t fast forward through it. You need to see it all. It gets in your bones, man.

I’ll talk about my Etsy-related goals another time…I think I’ve used enough virtual paper. See you in a while!

Leave a Reply

