Developing Donut Earrings: A Drama in Three Acts

Whoops. I forgot to blog yesterday. Between the manic cleaning of the real kitchen, baking real bread, and trying to get a bunch of items together, I neglected the blog. I’m sorry, guys.

As a consolation prize, however, I uploaded a whole bunch of new photos, so I’ll give you a sneak peek behind-the-scenes, from the epic poem “Creating Some Donut Earrings That I Thought Were Done But Still Need Some Design Work.” (If you happen to love the current version, you are a good person, and you can get the one-of-a-kind pair here.)

In the first act, Amelia, played by herself, warms up the donut-colored clay and shapes it into miniature rings. Next comes the coloring of the donuts…it looks a bit like a “choose your own self-tanning lotion” ad.

In act two, the donuts go for their frosting bath. Two go to vanilla, four to chocolate. After the frosting is the sprinkle station, which I do not have a picture for.

The prerequisite horror scene comes when Amelia has to set up her workspace for photography. See if you can find the hairspray (in case the photographer needs a little extra volume while operating the camera), the creepy mask I made in fourth grade, and the already-used Kodak film. Don’t cry too hard…it’s much less frightening in real life.

In the final act, Amelia uses her magic Picasa powers and makes the donut earrings look like they haven’t come from a cleaning-troubled background.

I’m pretty pleased with these earrings, but they aren’t quite there yet. Here’s my “prototype notes”:

This prototype is pretty close to the final version. The real deal will probably be out in late summer or early fall 2011, featuring different sprinkles, thicker frosting, and possibly different flavored donuts for maximum swanky contrast. The price range will probably be between $20 and $25 USD for the final design. All in all, I’m very pleased with the visual appeal of these earrings, and I think these are fantastic earrings in and of themselves.

Now it’s your turn…have you ever developed a product only to find out it’s not quite right? How do you go about designing something new? Let me know in the comments below…I’m very curious.

See you on Wednesday, for real this time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

