Clean counters, plastic junk food, and a first dollhouse

dry fusilli pasta

Each noodle was. hand. rolled.

It’s been a while, but I’m back to my fantastic little blog, and I’m hoping I’m back for a good long time. My miniature mojo and I are back on track, so hopefully, I’ll be cranking out a bunch of fun new pieces in the near future.

While I was away from WordPress, I must say that I bit the bullet and cleaned my work counter. It was too frightening to take actual photos of, so I guess it’ll suffice to say that if a bomb went off at an Office Max and then the contents of the entire store were spread on 12 square feet of space, the resemblance to my workspace would be uncanny. I’ve never been particularly skilled at maintaining order once clutter starts to accumulate, so I’m trying really hard to make sure things stay stuff-free wherever possible.

Once my counter was clean, it was pretty close to impossible to not get

sweet potato casserole!

Marshmallows are a vegetable too, guys.

excited about starting a bunch of new miniature foods. I guess I was in a “junk food” sort of mood yesterday, because the fixings for corn dogs, wafer cookies, and a Funfetti cake are languishing nearby, waiting for me to hurry up and finish them.

In anticipation of many hours of happy crafting, I’ve come to the conclusion that it would be a fantastic idea to start a happy little inspiration binder.  To tell the honest truth, my inspiration sources are currently limited to a knee-high stack of food magazines, cookbooks, and catalog clippings, along with a smattering of lists (“tater tots, breakfast plate, Jell-o cake”) scribbled on the backs of envelopes and grocery receipts.  I’ll certainly be writing more about that in the future, as things start coming together and such.

Finally, as a teaser for my next blog post, I’m working on building a little kitchen to do photo shoots in for my food. It’s going to be totally awesome, but I’ve never done a miniature scene in my life, and I need some encouragement. I would absolutely love suggestions for layout and other stuff like that. Extra points for the reader who sends me a link or photos to accessories that they think or cool, and an entire pan of brownie points for people who talk about their own dollhouses. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

