The Stash: Cinnamon and Nutmeg

So, as I have mentioned, I sell my creations on Etsy. If you’ve visited Etsy before, you’ll know that users can curate lists of items (Treasuries)  that fit a theme that they pick (like “Pretty in Pink” or “Deviled Eggs”, for instance) and find items for. It’s a sort of showcase for all the different products and styles out there.

Anyway, I would really love to get into doing Treasuries myself, but seeing as I have so little time to devote to the Frippery Factory anyway, I thought I’d start with doing my own mini-Treasury…of my own work. Because sometimes I’m scrolling through my shop, or shuffling through the Pile of Crap that is my workspace, and I’ll find something and go, “Wow! That’s cool!” So I’d like to bring forth the  four items, all alike in dignity, that will form the first-ever Stash of my items.


Cinnamon and Nutmeg

Both spices have noble lineages: cinnamon was once used in love potions; nutmeg was believed to ward off the plague. With this in mind, here are some foods that combine these two highly desirable characteristics together.

A. Cinnamon Swirl Bread. Two doughs, one spicy and rich, one soft and buttery, are twisted together to form this delightful taste sensation. Delicious hot, smothered in butter. [Yes, I did just say “delightful taste sensation”.]

B. Sticky Buns. Lacy sweet dough is rolled around a cinnamon nut-studded filling, slipped into a pan, and bathed in homemade caramel sauce. [Please excuse me while I go find something to eat.]

C. Holiday Fruitcake. Spices. Rum. Raisins, almonds, candied cherries, orange peel, lemon zest. Help yourself to a moist, dense slice of times past this holiday season. [Or, go curling. As in the Olympic event.]

D. Cinnamon Ribbon Candy. Like that hot, spicy burn in the back of your throat? Than best pick up some of our old-fashioned ribbon candy. The punchy flavors of cinnamon and nutmeg will likely knock your warm winter socks right off. [For the record, I do not like spice-flavored candies. At all.]

 

 

So there you have it. The first ever stash. I’m trying to formulate ideas for the next stash (and my art project too, coincidentally), so no promises as to what you’ll see for the next one. Until then, here’s to eating sweet things!

Leave a Reply

